Boy? Girl? The verdict is…

We have just announced the sex of the baby… But first I’d like to tell you the story behind why we decided to find out what we are having. I really wanted to keep the sex of the baby a surprise and not find out until it arrived head first into this crazy world. I still believe that it is the only true surprise that you have in life. I mean, you can’t very well see through your skin unless you are a super hero. The thought of the ultimate surprise enticed me, how cool would it be to wait 9 whole months (forever in pregnancy months) and then bam your whole life changes and you have a cute little boy or girl.

You know who doesn’t think it’s cool, my husband. Domenic doesn’t like to be kept in the dark about anything…especially when it directly involves him. He is a planer, a thinker, a worrier, a stress case, a planner, a list maker, a planner and a, OH did I mention a planner? Yes, he really, really, really, really, wanted to know the sex of the baby and thought it would be the biggest punishment of our lives if we didn’t know if it was a he or a she before it arrived. “Can’t you just let me have this one thing?” he complained! So being the nice wife that I am, I caved and we found out the sex, even though I didn’t want to…

So instead of surprising ourselves in 4 more months, we decided to surprise our friends with the sex of the baby by making a gender reveal cake. We all know that’s what our friends and family really wanted right, a cake, to celebrate our unborn baby’s gender. Fun, but a little cheesy.

My BFF and I, more like I made a double layer cake with said baby sex color frosting inside. Here is the cake at the party. I made 2 boxes of yellow cake and stacked them together between a bed of frosting. I had rolled and hand dyed the fondant pink and blue and cut out the circles to decorate the outside of the cake.

The cake was cut during a birthday party for my mother in law’s 60th birthday, which she thought was for her, but that’s a whole other story.  

YAY! ITS A GIRL!!! Phew, I have secrets! Now everyone knows what we are having. Feel free to shop accordingly. PS, this isn’t my baby, just a friend’s baby who loved eating the pink frosting in the cake.

Kelly

One thought on “Boy? Girl? The verdict is…

  1. Penne

    Kell and Dom – you guys are so clever — I love they way you made your announcement. Baby Girl Casparado is going to be one very adorable and lucky little girl to have such sweet parents. Good luck in the next four months. Enjoy them – get plenty of rest. You’re in store for the ride of your life. There is nothing better. And Grammy Steph is glowing down on you both. So wish she was physically with you for this ride. But, you know she is with you all the way all the time. Much love – Penne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

